Photo of Louis Brandeis statue

Brandeis’ 9th president

The Brandeis University Board of Trustees voted to appoint Ronald D. Liebowitz as Brandeis’ ninth president. Liebowitz assumed the office on July 1, 2016 and was inaugurated on November 3, 2016.

Welcome to the Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees, composed of up to 50 elected members, is responsible for and is the final authority on all aspects of the university's operations. The specific functions of the Board of Trustees are reflected by the standing committees of the Board: Executive; Academy; Risk Management & Audit; Resources; Institutional Advancement; Investment; Nominating and Governance. 

500 Internal Server Error

Internal Server Error

The server encountered an internal error and was unable to complete your request. Either the server is overloaded or there is an error in the application.

The officers of the board include chair, vice chairs, treasurer and secretary. The Board of Trustees began in 1947 with George Alpert as its first chair.